Stewart O'Nan - Emily, allein / Emily, Alone

  • Über den Autor:
    Stewart O´Nan wurde 1961 in Pittsburgh geboren und wuchs in Boston auf. Er arbeitete als Flugzeugingenieur und studierte in Cornell Literaturwissenschaft. Heute lebt er mit seiner Frau und seinen zwei Kindern in Avon, Connecticut. Für seinen Erstlingsroman "Engel im Schnee" erhielt er 1993 den William-Faulkner-Preis. (Quelle: Perlentaucher.de)



    Buchinhalt:
    A sequel to the bestselling, much-beloved Wish you were here, Stewart O'Nan's intimate new novel follows Emily Maxwell, a widow whose grown children have long moved away. She dreams of visits from her grandchildren while mourning the turnover of her quiet Pittsburgh neighborhood, but when her sole companion and sister-in-law Arlene faints at their favorite breakfast buffet, Emily's days change.
    As she grapples with her new independence, she discovers a hidden strength and realizes that life always offers new possibilities. Like most older women, Emily is a familiar yet invisible figure, one rarely portrayed so honestly. Her mingled feelings – of pride and regret, joy and sorrow – are gracefully rendered in wholly unexpected ways.
    Once again making the ordinary and overlooked not merely visible but vital to understanding our lives, Emily, Alone confirms O'Nan as an American master. (Klappentext)


    Das Buch umfasst 254 Seiten unterteilt in viele kleinere Kapitel mit ziemlich treffenden Titeln.


    Meine Meinung: